In short: published SOC 2 audit fees run from about $5,000 for a small Type 1 to $150,000 or more at the top of the market, and one vendor puts all-in first-year costs at $25,000 to over $200,000. Published ISO 27001 figures range from a few thousand for a very small company's certification audit to $75,000+ across a three-year cycle. 0 of 9 compliance platforms we track publish a price.
How to read these numbers. Every figure below was published by the firm named, and is labelled as a third-party estimate. The firms include CPA firms, certification bodies and compliance-platform vendors, some of which sell the services they are pricing. Ranges differ in what they include (audit fee only, or all first-year costs) and in company size, as noted on each row. Baseline Ready does not estimate prices; where nobody publishes one, we say so.
SOC 2
| Published by | What the figure covers | Range | Source type | Published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Linford & Company LLP auditor | audit fee SOC audit fees (SOC 1 & SOC 2) from a specialist CPA firm; median ~$30,000; Big 4 'low six figures' upward. Excludes readiness/tooling. | $20,000 – $150,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 4 February 2026 checked 25 September 2026 |
| The Pun Group auditor | audit fee Type I base audit fee only. | $5,000 – $20,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 1 December 2025 checked 24 September 2026 |
| The Pun Group auditor | audit fee Type II base audit fee only. | $20,000 – $50,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 1 December 2025 checked 24 September 2026 |
| A-LIGN auditor | audit fee SOC 2 audit (Type I or II), open-ended upper bound ('or more'); depends on size, complexity, scope. | $20,000 – $150,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 13 March 2026 checked 24 September 2026 |
| Drata compliance vendor | audit fee Type 1 audit fee, small to midsize companies (large orgs quoted $20,000–$60,000). | $7,500 – $15,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 25 March 2026 checked 24 September 2026 |
| Drata compliance vendor | audit fee Type 2 audit fee, small to midsize companies (large orgs $30,000–$100,000+). | $12,000 – $20,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 25 March 2026 checked 24 September 2026 |
| Drata compliance vendor | all-in first year Audit fee plus readiness, security tools and internal team time; upper bound 'over'. | $25,000 – $200,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 25 March 2026 checked 24 September 2026 |
ISO 27001
| Published by | What the figure covers | Range | Source type | Published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vanta compliance vendor | certification fee Stage 1 + Stage 2 initial certification audit; recertification similar; surveillance ~$6,000–$7,500. | $14,000 – $16,000 USD | Third-party estimate | Not stated checked 24 September 2026 |
| Vanta compliance vendor | certification fee Annual surveillance audit. | $6,000 – $7,500 USD | Third-party estimate | Not stated checked 24 September 2026 |
| Drata compliance vendor | other Total over full 3-year cycle: preparation, implementation, initial audit, surveillance, recertification. | $10,000 – $75,000 USD | Third-party estimate | 24 February 2026 checked 24 September 2026 |
| High Table publisher | all-in first year Combined expenses (preparation, implementation, internal audit, certification audit, ongoing); UK consultancy/publisher. | £5,000 – £50,000 GBP | Third-party estimate | 14 September 2026 checked 24 September 2026 |
| High Table publisher | certification fee By organisation size: 1–10 employees to 8,500+ employees. | £6,250 – £36,875 GBP | Third-party estimate | 14 September 2026 checked 24 September 2026 |
| Advisera publisher | certification fee Point estimate: certification audit for a very small US company. | $7,500 – $7,500 USD | Third-party estimate | 9 November 2023 checked 24 September 2026 |
High Table publishes in pounds sterling; other figures are in US dollars. Currencies are not converted.
Compliance platform pricing
Of the 9 platforms we track, 0 publish a price on their own website; the rest ask you to contact sales or show plan names without prices. The full list, with the frameworks each one lists, is on compliance automation platforms.
Typical timelines
| Framework | What | Typical duration | Published by |
|---|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 | Type 2 observation period | 3–12 months | A-LIGN; Compass IT Compliance |
| ISO 27001 | Journey to certification | 3–12 months | I.S. Partners; Vanta |
| ISO 27001 | Certificate cycle | 3 years, with surveillance audits in years two and three | TÜV Rheinland; Schellman |
Download and reuse
Cost figures (CSV) · Platform pricing status (CSV). Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with a link to this page. Data last checked 25 September 2026; cost and vendor facts are re-checked at least every 45 days. How we collect them: sources & methodology.
Cite this index
Baseline Ready, "Security Compliance Cost & Readiness Index", https://baselineready.com/costs/, data checked 25 September 2026. Spotted an outdated figure? See corrections.